The 2022 National Retriever Championship banquet was held at The Mill in Tillsonburg, ON

Following National Retriever Championship tradition, the head table was piped in by John Hunt.

Jim & Sheila Andrew, Jim Ling, Doug Shepherd, Hope & Peter Roberts, Walt Vessey, Jacqueline Kennedy

Bill Kennedy, the 2022 National Banquet’s Master of Ceremonies, welcomed everyone to the National Banquet.  Next Bill introduced Mike Benin who sang the Star-Spangled Banner and O Canada.  A moment was then taken for all to reflect on the passing of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, followed by a Toast to the King and the Office of the President of the USA.

Bill introduced the head table; Cathy Cottrell, Jacqueline Kennedy, Walter Vessey (Marshall), Peter Roberts, Hope Roberts (West Zone Judge), Doug Shepherd (West Zone Judge), Jim Ling (East Zone Judge), Sheila Andrew, Jim Andrew (NRCC President), Gloria DeVos (Chairman) and Dan DeVos.

Jim Andrew, President of the National Retriever Club of Canada was next to address the group, welcoming all to the 2022 National and thanking the Host Club, the Long Point Retriever Training Club.  Jim acknowledged the NRCC Sponsors: Nestle Purina Official Dog Food Sponsor and the Official Dog Food Supplier to the National Retriever Club of Canada, Garmin, Avery Sporting Dog, Canine Field Company, Dakota Creek Retrievers, Wingfeather Outfitters, Heron Game Calls, Ainley Kennels and Fabrication, St Lawrence Outfitters, Kent Cartridge, Canadian Waterfowl Supplies and Dive Bomb Industries.

To our National Judges, Hope Roberts from Victoria BC, Doug Shepherd from Nanton, Alberta and Jim Ling from Stirling, Ontario, Bill presented them with 2022 National Judges pins.

Jim Ling ON, Doug Shepherd AB, Hope Roberts BC

Bill recognized Connie Swanson, a retiring NRCC Director and introduced Chris Mason, the new NRCC Director.  Lorne Parker, Doug Shepherd and Mike Zelman have accepted another term as NRCC Directors.

Bill presented 2022 National pins to Gloria DeVos, the Field Trial Chairman, Darlene Broomhead, the Field Trial Secretary, Walt Vessey, the Field Trial Marshall and to Grant Koenig, the Assistant Field Trial Marshall.

Bill announced the Field Trial Committee, which was selected earlier in the day at the NRCC Directors meeting; Walt Vessey, Gloria Devos, Darlene Broomhead and Ken Crosby representing the East Zone, and Lorne Parker representing the West Zone.  He then announced the 2023 National Retriever Championship will be September 17-23 in the Comox Valley on Vancouver Island BC, hosted by the Vancouver Island Retriever Club.

Gloria DeVos, the National Chairman, shared a heart felt thank you to a long list of people including the Landowners, the Judges, Hope, Doug and Jim, to Walt Vessey the Marshall, John McKenzie of McKenzie Auctions, Mike Benin, Jeanie Meyer, the Broomheads, the Wardles, the Professional Trainers, Baypoint Kennels, Belmont Gundogs, Bow River Retrievers, and Westwind Retrievers for sponsoring the Handler shirts and all the contributors to the raffles and silent auction.

The Long Point Retriever Training Club has dedicated the 2022 National Retriever Championship to Bob Cottrell, one of the founding fathers of the club in 1983.  A toast was given in memory of Bob.

Bill then called upon Gar Clark, President of the Long Point Retriever Training Club.  Gar welcomed everyone to the 2022 National and offered congratulations to all the 2022 National Qualifiers. As the first National with the new National format, Gar reminded us there may be two champions selected. On behalf of the LPRTC, Gar presented gifts to the judges, Hope, Jim and Doug. He acknowledged the many people who have come together to host this great event.

At the conclusion of the speeches, Cathy Cottrell offered a beautiful grace for the meal about to be shared.  A delicious buffet dinner of Prime Rib of Beef, Salmon with Dill Sauce and Broasted Chicken, tossed garden salad, garlic mashed potatoes, carrots, basmati rice and pie for desert!  Thank you to the folks at The Mill for making this evening a special occasion.

Bill Kennedy - Master of Ceremonies
Gloria DeVos - Chairman
Mike Benin - singer of National Anthems
Gar Clark - President of Long Point Retriever Training Club
Jim Andrew - NRCC President
Cathy Cottrell - offered grace

Congratulation to Cathy Cottrell for winning the original painting by local artist Krista Reimer and Judy Mottola for winning the gift basket filled with donations from local merchants.

Competitor Introduction and Calcutta Auction

As the competitors were introduced and received their 2022 National handler bags, each dog was auctioned off to the highest bidder by John McKenzie of McKenzie Auctions. With help from Dave Thompson, Bill Kennedy and the NRCC Directors; Chris Mason, Ken Crosby, Lorne Parker and Richard Dresser, the auction was lively and a lot of fun!

Starting dog for Test 1 Land Marks is #44 Outlaws Ruff and Rowdy QFTR!

Test #1 location is Test Site #5 Hudson Property 1513 Charlotteville RD 8 Simcoe


Our Sponsors
Photo Gallery